Thoughts

An Open Letter to My Youth Pastor

Hey,

Do you remember me? Do you know how much you mean to me and just how much you impacted me? Did you know that you are one of the reasons I am who I am today?

Because you are.

All that time I spent in your care. All that time learning from you. Your sermons, your actions, your words. It shaped me.

It’s been six years.

Do you see me now? I’m a woman now. I have a career, a family, a life. I’ve grown up to pursue the passions that I once sat in your office and cried about. You inspired me to chase my dreams.

I want you to know I did.

I didn’t give up. I saw you struggle through some difficult times and let me tell you, that was when I grew spiritually the most. You showed me that it’s okay to struggle. It’s okay to be hurt. It’s okay to cry out to God. 

But most importantly you pushed me towards God.

You showed me His amazing, beautiful, mysterious, unfailing love. You challenged me weekly to lean into His grace and to never forget that I am His child. 

I carry my memories of you and that church and often think back to the moments that shaped who I am today. So for that, thank you. Thank you for investing in my life and my peers. 

I hope you are proud. 

Best,

your student

