Thoughts

A Day without Makeup

ppToday I decided not to wear makeup. I’m not entirely sure why I decided to do this but I did. I went to classes, mingled with classmates, and even went shopping. (oh the horror!)

Here is what I did differently compared to the other days I went with minimal makeup.

I chose to be happy. I didn’t slump around my classes feeling “gross” or “ugly” because I didn’t put makeup on today. I didn’t look at myself in the mirror 50 times just to see how bad the damage was. I decided that I was going to accept myself today and if others didn’t, then oh well.

And guess what?

I didn’t die. No one called me ugly. No one asked me if I was sick or not feeling well. (that usually happens when I don’t wear makeup). I think the important part of this is that no one cares. The only reason someone will ask you if you don’t feel well when you aren’t wearing makeup is because you are reflecting what you feel on the inside. If you don’t feel beautiful without makeup then you are going to be less confident which can be expressed in a variety of ways, including sadness.

Today, I laughed. I was engaged with others. I listened with my eyes even though that is one of my biggest insecurities. I know that I am beautiful and that I don’t need makeup to make me happy or successful or loved by others. This is just a fiction I have made up in my mind.

So, I challenge you ladies, to do a makeup free day. but remember you have to be confident to get the full effect. Best of luck!